UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

I’ve been baking like crazy this past month, since my favorite time of the year is (well, almost) finally here. I have to admit, most of my desserts were not really based on my desire to explore foreign cuisine, but more on what I found to reflect the season best. A lot of what I’ve baked was also quite typical for my country, but I’ll write about that sometime later.

One thing that I did make (though not really for the very first time) and is a national dessert from somewhere around the world is my very own, healthy, version of an American apple pie. I didn’t make it because it’s a typical American dessert, though, but because for me, there really is no fall, or winter for that matter, without apples, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, vanilla, cloves, oranges, hot chocolate…anyway, I’m getting ahead of myself again.

I mentioned healthy before, since I made the pie completely without butter, with whole wheat flour and brown sugar (yes, even the crust). And yes, it was totally delicious.

Apple Pie

ApplePie3

Ingredients

Crust:

  • 100g whole-wheat flour
  • 30g white flour
  • 60g low-fat yogurt
  • 1,5g stevia
  • 100ml water (more or less, depending on the texture you get)

Filling:

  • 700g apples
  • 40g brown sugar
  • 2g cinnamon
  • 1g nutmeg
  • 7,5g stevia

Preparation

ApplePie2In a large bowl, combine all of the flour, stevia and yogurt. After that, slowly add water and mix thoroughly until the mixture forms a ball. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate for at least a couple of hours.

In the meantime, you can prepare the filling. Simply combine all of the ingredients. Preheat the oven to about 425°F (220°C). Roll out 2/3 of the crust and cover the bottom of a 9 inch (23cm) pan with it. Roll the remaining 1/3 of the crust. Fill the pan with apples and cover with the remaining rolled out crust.

ApplePie1Bake for about 10-15 minutes at 425 degrees F (220°C). Then reduce the temperature to 350°F (175°C) and bake for another 35-45 minutes. But make sure you check on it regularly, as baking time really depends on what type of oven you have.

 

Leave a Reply

